Doors Open 2008

Just a quick reminder about Doors Open this Sunday.

The following 23 sites will be open on Sunday FREE of charge for tours:

  • All Saints’ Anglican Church
    330 City Hall Square West

    All Saints’ Anglican Church originated in 1852 as a mission of St. John’s Anglican in Sandwich, with the current Gothic-Revival style church being built from 1855-1857. Additions were completed in 1871 (chancel), 1881 (spire), and 1890 (rectory).

    Open from Noon until 4:00 pm.

  • Assumption Church
    350 Huron Church Rd

    Magnificent Assumption Church, the fourth building to serve the oldest continuous parish in Ontario, began as a mission to the Hurons in 1728. The nave of the Gothic Revival style building dates from 1842-45 with the tower and sanctuary added in 1870-74. The church boasts a hand carved altar from 1793 and stained glass windows added between 1874- 1882.

    Open from Noon until 4:00 pm.

  • Frank Joyce House
    3975 Riverside Dr. E.

    One of the few remaining mansions of east Windsor’s “millionaire’s row,” this Tudor Revival house was designed by Sheppard & Masson in 1926 for Detroit industrialist Frank Joyce. The Sisters of St. Joseph used the building as a convent for 55 years. It was recently purchased by Académie Ste. Cécile International School, for use as a school and retreat centre.

    Open from Noon to 4:00 pm

  • Duff-Baby House
    221 Mill Street, Windsor

    Duff-Baby House is one of the most important and best-preserved “Georgian” style houses in Ontario. Windsor’s oldest building, it was built in 1798 for fur trader Alexander Duff. James Baby owned the home at the outbreak of the War of 1812. Now owned by the Ontario Heritage Foundation, it was restored in the 1990s.

  • World War II Hangar/Vintage Aircraft
    Windsor Airport, Hayes Rd (Airport Road off Walker Road – turn right after crossing the train tracks)

    The Canadian Historical Aircraft Association is housed in the last remaining WWII hangar of the #7 Elementary Flying Training School at Windsor Airport ( 1941- 45) .The Association’s mission is to preserve and restore vintage military and civilian aircraft considered important to Canadian aviation history. The Lancaster bomber will be on display.

  • J.P. Thomson & Associates
    1561 Ouellette Ave

    The offices of J.P Thomson and Associates is an outstanding example of adaptive reuse of an architecturally significant building. For 60 years, the building served as St. Paul’s Anglican Church. When membership declined in the early 90’s the building was sold and the firm redesigned the interior for office use, retaining the original elements.

    In 2005 the Company received a Built Heritage Award for their work.

  • Masonic Temple
    986 Ouellette Ave.

    The Windsor Masonic Temple was designed by local architect J.C. Pennington in the Neo-Classical Revival style in the early 1920’s. It was the first permanent home for the Windsor Lodge, which was formed in 1850. The Lodge rooms have dark wood furnishings that date back to 1892. The building was designated under the Ontario Heritage Act in 1995.

  • McGregor-Cowan House
    3118 Sandwich Street

    The stately Georgian-style McGregor Cowan House, built c1808, is believed to be the second oldest building in Windsor (after the Duff-Baby Mansion built in 1798). The chimneys on either side of the roof ridge represent a French Canadian heating system unique to the area – each warming a separate half of the house.

  • Canadian Club Brand Center (former Hiram Walker & Sons Ltd. Head Office)
    2072 Riverside Drive East

    The Hiram Walker & Sons Head Office was the flagship of the Walker enterprise. Completed in 1894, it was designed by Mason & Rice of Detroit in the Italian Renaissance style. The elegant exterior features terra cotta ornament, and bronze gates and lanterns. The interior boasts mahogany paneling, fine woodcarving and imported marble.

  • Sandwich Post Office
    3201 Sandwich Street

    This 2 ½ storey brick & stone building, erected in 1905-06, was Sandwich’s first post office building. It was originally known as the Federal building, and also served as a customs house. It was designed by architect David Ewart of the Federal Department of Public Works, and shows a transition from Romanesque to Classical style post offices.

  • Francois Baby House National Historic Site – Windsor’s Community Museum
    254 Pitt Street West, Windsor

    Prominent citizen Francois Baby built a Georgian-style house on this site in 1812. The invading American army, and subsequently the British, commandeered the house during the War of 1812. After the remains of the building were acquired by the city in the 1950s, it was restored for museum use.

  • Mackenzie Hall
    3277 Sandwich Street, Windsor

    Mackenzie Hall, the former Essex County courthouse, was built in 1855 by Mackenzie Builders. Canada’s second prime minister, Alexander Mackenzie, was head of the building firm. This stately stone landmark, the fourth courthouse built on the same site, is now used as a cultural centre for the City of Windsor.

  • Shaar Hashomayim Synagogue
    115 Gilles Blvd. E.

    Shaar Hashomayim Synagogue, built in 1929, is the oldest active synagogue in Windsor and has the largest Orthodox congregation in Windsor/Detroit. Designed by A. Stuart Allaster, it features an extraordinary front façade with three pairs of wooden entrance doors recessed in carved stone arches, and rare, magnificent stained glass windows.

  • Académie Ste. Cécile
    925 Cousineau Rd

    The former Holy Redeemer College, now Académie Ste. Cécile International School, is one of the most important works of renowned church architect Francis Barry Byrne, featuring his signature style – the use of “pure” products, wood, concrete and glass. A highlight of the 1957 building is its chapel with painted-glass windows and statuary designed by Byrne himself.

    Open from Noon to 4:00 pm

  • St. Mary’s Anglican Church
    1983 St. Mary’s Gate

    Hiram Walker’s sons commissioned beautiful St. Mary’s Anglican Church in memory of their parents. Built in 1904 of Amherstburg limestone, the Gothic Revival style church boasts fine interior woodcarvings and stained glass windows. The Tudor Revival style rectory, hall (1950), and adjacent cemetery with lych-gate complete the church complex. (1983 St. Mary’s Gate)

    Open from Noon until 4:00 pm.

  • St. Peter’s Maronite Church
    166 Tecumseh Rd. W.

    St. Peter’s Maronite Church, built in 1930–31, is Windsor’s most outstanding art deco building, and one of the few art deco churches in Canada. Local architect Albert Lothian designed the church and everything in it, from light sconces to vestments, and the rectory as well. Home to St. Clare Roman Catholic parish for 70 years.

    As in years past, food will be available on site for purchase.

    Open from 1:00 pm until 4:00 pm.

  • Willistead Manor
    1899 Niagara Street

    Willistead Manor, the magnificent Edwardian mansion designed by renowned Detroit architect Albert Kahn, is celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2006. Situated on a 15-acre estate, it was built in 1904-1906 for Edward Chandler Walker, the second son of distiller Hiram Walker. It features half-timber construction, rustic stone, ornately carved wood and elegant interior.

  • Holy Trinity Church
    1420 Drouillard Rd.

    This tiny church is one several churches built by middle European immigrant communities in the early 1900’s. Holy Trinity was designed by architect John Boyde in the Northern Russian style. It features distinctive blue domes and a stone belfry with six cast iron bells. The building, like many Orthodox churches, is laid out in the shape of a cross.

  • St. John’s Anglican Church and Cemetery
    3305 Sandwich Street (at Brock Street)

    This Gothic-style Church with its Norman tower has evolved over time. The 1819 structure, which was rebuilt in 1871, replaced an earlier church which was burned to the ground by invading Americans during the War of 1812. The adjacent graveyard, restored in 2003, contains gravestones dating from the 18th century.

    Open from Noon until 4:00 pm.

  • Descent of the Holy Ghost
    2895 Seminole Rd

    This is one of three Romanian Orthodox churches in Windsor. It features typical onion shaped domes with stained glass Orthodox crosses in the colours of the Romanian flag. This church is built in the form of a cross. The interior features rare wooden fold down chairs in the typical Romanian Orthodox style.

    Open from Noon until 4:00 pm.

  • Art Gallery of Windsor
    401 Riverside Dr. W.

    From humble beginnings in Willistead Manor, to a converted brewery in downtown a temporary home in a shopping mall, the Art Gallery of Windsor now stands as a waterfront icon. It’s a futuristic blend of glass and stone with an enviable permanent art collection and constantly changing gallery exhibits. During Doors Open, a local artist and art instructor will be on hand to talk about her gallery and her art.

  • Windsor Club
    100 Ouellette Ave., 14th Floor

    The Windsor Club is the oldest private member social club in the area catering to the business community. Founded by 65 members on November 13, 1903, the Club has occupied several historic locations in Windsor including the Prince Edward Hotel, the Norton Palmer Hotel and the Bartlett Building. Since 1987 The Club has occupied the penthouse floor at 100 Ouellette Avenue with its outstanding views of the Detroit River and the city skylines.

  • Gurdwara Khalsa Prakash
    7955 County Road 42

    After 10 years of work, the members of the Sikh Cultural Society completed their 26,000-square-foot temple (called a gurdwara) in 2000. Designed by local architect Surendra Bagga, it copies traditional Sikh architecture of 600 years ago. The onion-shaped dome, designed to look like a lotus flower, rises 70 feet. Food will be provided for all visitors throughout the event.

    Please leave all tobacco products in your car.

    Open from Noon until 4:00 pm.

  • ——

    If you attend any sites, please make sure that you sign in on the sheets at each site. While not mandatory, these sheets are used to track attendance, and total from this year will be used in determining if the event will be held again.


    Don’t forget that and are sponsoring the City Cycle ride as well.

    Deatils are available on Windsor Eats.


    Full details about doors open are available on the website at:

    Related posts
    DemolitionLost WindsorOld PhotographsWindsor

    Tunnel Bar-B-Q 2015

    Old PhotographsWindsor

    2422 Gladstone Avenue

    Old PhotographsWindsor

    Dieppe Park - c 1958


    ACO Heritage Award Nomination

    Recent Comments:


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *