Lost WindsorOld PhotographsReader Submission

Lafontaine House - 395 Pitt St E

Pitt & Mercer – mid 1970’s The photo for today’s post comes from a reader who shot the house above on a Kodachrome Slide back in the mid 1970s. He scanned it for us here using his digital camera. The house was built in 1875 on the south west corner of Pitt & Mercer. Unique in that it was an octagon shaped house, it was unique to the city. The house was home to…
Read more
DemolitionLost WindsorOld Photographs

Ouellette & Riverside - 1963

Looking north towards Detroit, August 5, 1963 One of those cool but depressing photos, showing the first block of Ouellette from 1963. Every building in this shot on the Windsor side, is long lost to history. The Norwich block on the left, wiped out for the Chrysler…
RenderingsWindsor

New Studebaker Service Station - 1917

Architect’s rendering of the building – May 30, 1917 With all the focus lately on the redevelopment of the former Loop building (and new home of Quicken Loans), the WindsorEssex Economic Development Corporation has moved into the buildings across the street. The buildings had been vacant since the closure of the City Beer Market and Chatham Street Grill in 2013 and 2009…
Read more
Buildings of WindsorRenderingsUnbuilt

Bank of Hamilton - 1920

Proposed Bank of Hamilton – Ouellette and Chatham St. 1920 Designed by Toronto architects McGiffin & Smith, this unrealized plan for a Bank of Hamilton branch at Ouellette and Chatham Streets was proposed in 1920. The building was to be covered in stone along…
RenderingsUnbuilt

16 Story Proposed Skyscraper - 1929

Proposed Building for Fred W. Martin – 1929 The rendering above shows the proposed building that was planned for the north east corner of Wyandotte & Ouellette. Designed by architects Dangerfield & Winter, the plan was created by Fred Martin, the man behind the Detroit-Windsor Tunnel. The building was to be 16 stories, and cost $1.1 million dollars (about $16.3 million today).
Read more
Unbuilt

Riverside Park Pavilion

AddressSandwich St W (now Riverside) & BruceYear 1914ArchitectJ.C. PenningtonStatusUnbuilt Proposed by the Park Committee, the pavilion above was proposed for Riverside Park at the foot of Bruce Avenue. The Pavilion designed by J.C. Pennington, was planned to be…